“The Liebster Award”

liebster-award-ribbon

I would like to sincerely thank Lauren from http://mykindofmovie.wordpress.com for nominating me for the Liebster Award; I greatly appreciate it. If you are unfamiliar with her blog, check out her site, and hit the ‘follow’ button, you will not be disappointed. I enjoy reading her insightful and honest critiques of the movies she reviews every time I receive a new post from her in my e-mail.

As with all blog awards there is an explanation to be given behind its formation, as well as certain rules that the recipient is governed by.

The Liebster Award is given to a blogger who has less than two hundred followers, and is an excellent way to spread the word regarding other blogs that the giver of the award feels people should take notice of.

The receivers of the Liebster Award must abide by the following rules:

  1. List 11 random facts about yourself.
  2. Answer the questions that were asked of you (by the blogger that nominated you).
  3. Nominate 11 other blogs for the Liebster Blog Award and include a link to their blog.
  4. Notify the bloggers of their award.
  5. Ask the award winners 11 questions to answer once they accept the award.

11 random facts about myself:

1. I am desperately trying to finish my first novel, and have ideas for two more after its completion.

2. The first two cars I ever owned were the color red.

3. Although I have only officially lived in two states, New York and Florida, my accumulated time over the years attending summer camps in Pennsylvania probably adds up to a year’s worth of time living in that state.

4. The first movie I ever remember seeing as a child was Bambi.

5. I love to read.

6. Dexter is one of my all time favorite television shows, and I am sorry that this will be its last season.

7. My favorite food is Italian.

8. A few of my favorite film directors are Alfred Hitchcock, Quentin Tarantino, Martin Scorsese, Ken Russell, and Steven Spielberg.

9. The best concert I ever went to was when I saw legendary Led Zeppelin guitarist, Jimmy Page, play with the Black Crowes.

10. I named my blog Robbins Realm because I didn’t want to feel tied down to only having to write about one topic.

11. First and foremost, I need coffee in the morning; if I don’t have at least
two cups, I can only be expected to function at a 50% level.

The following are the questions Lauren wanted me to answer:

1) What book would you recommend for me to read and why?

Since you are a big Stephen King fan, I would recommend that you read “11/22/63” if you haven’t already done so. I found the novel, even at over eight hundred pages in length, to be a brisk page turner. I couldn’t wait to find out what happened next, as the main protagonist of the book, Jake Epping, traveled back in time to determine if there was a conspiracy regarding the assassination of America’s 35th President, John F. Kennedy.

2) What is your favorite post you’ve written on your blog and why?

Of the blogs I have written and posted, my favorite one so far, was published on June 14, 2012 and was called “Don Coscarelli’s Phantasm – Thought Provoking Horror.”

http://wp.me/pXJKv-cN

The reason I consider it my favorite, was not only because I hopefully introduced some new horror fans to one of the best films, in my opinion, the genre has to offer, but also because I mixed in creative writing by speculating about what I felt might have been the thoughts and feelings of a young Don Coscarelli as he wrote the script for the movie.

3) Star Wars vs. Star Trek-which is best?

This question is like asking me: if I had two children, which one I love more. As I wrote in my recent post about DeForest Kelley, some of my earliest childhood memories were of watching “Star Trek” with my grandparents; it was one of the first television shows that I actually knowingly wanted to watch. The original “Star Wars” movies were amongst the first batch of films I ever saw in the theater, and I remember at the time being blown away by them − especially the light saber battle between Luke and Vader in “The Empire Strikes Back,” so it is impossible for me to properly answer this question.

4) Who would play you in the film version of your life?

I can’t think of anyone.

5) What TV show/film do you watch when you’re feeling down?

“Are You Being Served,” which is a British comedy whose cast of colorful characters at the fictional Grace Brothers Department Store never fails to make me laugh out loud.

6) Who is your favorite character from Harry Potter?

Hermione Granger.

7) What song sums up the day you’ve had today?

I can’t think of a particular song at this moment in time that would encapsulate my day.

8) Do you believe in fate or free will?

I believe in free will.

9) Are you a cynic, optimistic or realist when it comes to life?

I would say I am a mixture of all three. While I attempt to be realistic about the way things are, I try to remain optimistic most of the time, but as I am sure anyone who is reading this knows, it can be a hard thing to do at times.

10) Do you believe in ghosts?

I like to think that they exist.

11) What film are you looking forward to seeing next?

“The Wolf of Wall Street.”

The most difficult part of accepting any award is choosing fellow bloggers to pass the same award onto. I read and enjoy a great many talented individuals on wordpress.com that write about an array of diverse topics, and bring their own unique perspectives and interesting opinions to their given blogs, so that picking eleven was not an easy task. The following are the bloggers I am nominating for the Liebster Blog Award.

http://ReviewedbyMarkLeonard.wordpress.com

http://TheMovieMontage.wordpress.com

http://Digitalshortbread.wordpress.com

http://TheCinemaMonster.wordpress.com

http://Parlorofhorror.wordpress.com

http://AsianCinemaBlog.wordpress.com

http://TheDerbyKiller.wordpress.com

http://TheSoulofthePlot.wordpress.com

http://Elementalreviews.wordpress.com

http://Thehorrorbooth.wordpress.com

http://SilverEmulsionFilmReviews.wordpress.com

If you chose to accept the award please answer the following questions:

1. Who are a few of your favorite directors?

2. Do you collect anything?

3. Who are some of your favorite actors?

4. Who are some of your favorite actresses?

5. Do you have any siblings?

6. Where is one place in the world you would like to travel to that you have never been?

7. What is the last book you read and loved?

8. What are a few of your favorite television shows?

9.  Do you play sports?

10. If you could meet any person from history, who would it be and why?

11. What is your favorite food?

Lauren, thank you again, so very much for the nomination. I look forward to reading your future posts.

About robbinsrealm

I was born in Smithtown, New York, and grew up, worked, and lived in various areas of Long Island before moving to Boca Raton, Florida where I now make my home. In addition to being an aspiring writer, I am also an English teacher. I have a Bachelor of Arts in English and a Master’s Degree in Education, both from Adelphi University in Garden City, New York. In my spare time you will find me engrossed in books, watching movies, socializing with friends, or just staying active.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to “The Liebster Award”

  1. Tom says:

    THanks for the nomination, and I’m going to post my responses to your questions — along with other nominees’ questions — in a little thing here sometime soon. Stay tuned. . . .

  2. WordsFallFromMyEyes says:

    The Wolf on Wall Street does sound good, yes… And can you believe I’ve never seen Bambi? !

    Congrats 🙂

  3. lauren says:

    Thank you so much for all the nice things you said about me-I’ll get a big head soon! I like your answers and your random facts. “11/22/63” sounds interesting, I think before I was concerned about how big the book is but if you say its a good read then I’ll definately get round to reading it. Keep up the good work on your blog, it’s always an excellent read.

    • robbinsrealm says:

      You’re more than welcome. Again, thank you very much for the nomination.

      I had trouble putting 11/22/63 down. No matter what else I had to do, I kept wanting to read a few more pages to find out what would happen next. Thank you for reading my blog and for your compliment. I greatly appreciate it. I always enjoy reading your reviews!

  4. Thank you so much for the nomination. Haven’t read “11/22/63” yet but your comments on it have me interested.

    • robbinsrealm says:

      You’re welcome; I truly enjoy reading your blog. If you get a chance read it. I think you will like it. I couldn’t put it down, even when I had other things to do. I just needed to know what direction King would take the main character in.

  5. Niejan says:

    Many thanks for the nomination. It’s good to see a fellow blogger who also enjoyed “11/22/63” . 🙂

  6. Another big thank you for the nomination. One question for clarification: should I be answering those 11 questions on my blog, or in your comments section? Or does it matter? Let me know when you can. I’m not only very pleased that you enjoy my posts, but I’m happy that so many folks seem to be on board for “The Wolf of Wall Street”. I can barely stand the wait for that one, myself! ML

  7. Hey, thanks a ton for the very cool nomination, and I appreciate your visits to The Derby Killer! I love the eleven questions you’ve chosen for us to answer, and I will get to them ASAP…I have two other nominations I’m delinquent on, that I need to get to first, but yours is on the horizon! Again, many thanks, and I hope you keep coming back!

  8. filmhipster says:

    Congrats, hey I love ‘Are you being served’! I used to watch that religiously with my mom back in the day. Love the opening and closing music to it.

  9. Hey, congrats to you!
    And thanks for liking some of my posts.

Leave a Reply

