007 December – The Man With the Golden Gun (1974) – Robbins Realm

I would very much like to thank Rob, of Movierob, for allowing me to participate in his month long James Bond Blogathon. If you are not already a follower of his blog, I highly recommend that you become one. He writes well constructed, informative reviews, on films in a diverse array of genres.

007-December Blogathon

Here’s a review by Jonathan of Robbin’s Realm of The Man With The Golden Gun (1974).

Thanks Jonathan!

mgg

“The Man with the Golden Gun”

The familiar theme music begins. Written by Monty Norman, and performed by the John Barry Orchestra, this particular theme is used in association with only one character throughout all of cinematic history – 007, James Bond. In this particular outing, the iconic character is portrayed by Golden Globe winner, Roger Moore (For Your Eyes Only). He is walking, whilst being followed by a gun scope. Midway through his walk, Bond stops, turns, takes aim, and fires his Walther PPK gun. This causes the screen to drip blood red, as if 007 has just vanquished the latest criminal mastermind he had been in pursuit of.

Cut to the opening scene on a private beach, where Hervé Villechaize’s (Fantasy Island) character, Nick Nack, is carrying a tray of…

View original post 1,787 more words

About robbinsrealm

I was born in Smithtown, New York, and grew up, worked, and lived in various areas of Long Island before moving to Boca Raton, Florida where I now make my home. In addition to being an aspiring writer, I am also an English teacher. I have a Bachelor of Arts in English and a Master’s Degree in Education, both from Adelphi University in Garden City, New York. In my spare time you will find me engrossed in books, watching movies, socializing with friends, or just staying active.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 007 December – The Man With the Golden Gun (1974) – Robbins Realm

  1. Gypsy King says:

    Even though my intelligent side knows this is one of the lesser Bonds, I saw it when I was 7 so love it. Nick Nack is brilliant and the barrel roll is still one of Bond’s best stunts. I even love JW: “get your cotton pickin’ snos outta my pants pocket!” It also fired my imagination about the Far East and was a partial factor in me visiting Thailand. It also has one of my favourite lines in response to the belly dancing saying she’d lost her charm. “Not fro where I’m standing.” Worship the Rog!

  2. movierob says:

    Thanks Jonathan for participating!

  3. I’m just such a Bond fan..since I was a child..none of them could ever be bad for me.. and no one does villains like Bond movies do..:D

Leave a Reply

